Voting Districts



On December 16, 2015, the City received a letter asserting the City’s "at-large" electoral system, violates the California Voting Rights Act.  This letter threatened litigation if the City declined to adopt a "by-district" ordinance for use in the November 2016 elections and thereafter. Consequently, on March 18, 2016, the City Council held a special meeting to discuss the City’s electoral system. The City Council concluded that the public interest would be better served by transitioning to "by-district" elections in time for the November 2016 City Council elections.

It is important to note, the December 2015 letter was not accompanied by any evidence to support the claim of a violation, however, the threat of a costly lawsuit outweighs the risk of deferring a"by-district" electoral system.

By-District Elections

In the interest of clarity, the first by-district election was held in November 2016 for voting Districts 1 and 4. As a result of this election, Mayor Pro Tem Tom Haughey now represents District 4 and former Council Member Glenn Duncan was elected to represent District 1. After the retirement of Mr. Duncan in June 2017, the City Council appointed Council Member Paul Rodriguez to fill the District 1 vacancy until November 2018 per Government Code Section 36512.

The next regularly scheduled City Council election will occur on Tuesday, November 6, 2018. The open City Council seats reside within voting Districts 1 (2-year term), 2 (4-year term), and 3 (4-year term). Please note that the unexpired term for District 1 will end in 2020 as this seat was initially filled by Mr. Duncan in 2016 for a four year term. 

Voting Districts 

As a result of Ordinance No. 2016-007, the City of Chino is now geographically divided into four voting districts. Voters from each District elect one City Council Member to represent the residents who live in that District. The Mayor is elected by all voting residents of the community and is a representative at large. 

For the exact location/boundary of your City Council District: