Police Department Annual Awards Ceremony

Police Department Annual Awards Ceremony
Posted on 02/23/2017

Chino Police presented 75 awards to exemplary personnel who dedicated themselves through outstanding service. These individuals were recognized during the 2016 Annual Police Department Awards Ceremony on Thursday, February 16, 2017. Four individuals earned distinguished awards for Officer of the Year, Civilian of the Year, Volunteer of the year and the Chief’s Award of Distinction.

Officer of the Year: Officer Ryan Tillman. Officer Tillman started his career as a police officer in 2014 and works in various assignments: Patrol, Explorer Advisor, Recruitment Team, Honor Guard and is the co-founder of the Breaking Barriers United program. He was recognized for his proactive work on patrol, investigative tenacity and community outreach efforts.

Civilian of the Year: Cadet Steven Flores. Cadet Flores has worked for the Chino PD since 2011 and is currently assigned to the Training Unit. He earned Civilian of the Year for his expertise with department equipment and radios, and an incredible work ethic. He was also recognized for his outstanding role in preparing and delivering the Officer and Community Active Shooter trainings in partnership with the Chino Valley Fire Department.

Volunteer of the Year: Pam Dolar. Ms. Dolar, a volunteer in the Criminal Investigations Bureau has dedicated her expertise for over 2 years at Chino PD. She was recognized for contributing hundreds of hours assisting with critical projects; including missing person cases. Her analytical and organizational skills have been an incredible asset to the department.

Chief’s Award of Distinction: Administrative Services Manager Chris Wolff. Ms. Wolff began her career with Chino PD in 1991 and received the Chief’s Award of distinction for her ongoing efforts to train personnel and community members on emergency preparedness, creating and updating disaster response plans, and partnering with City departments and neighboring agencies. Chris is also credited for creating the disaster academy program for City Employees.

At the ceremony, themed ‘Carriers of the Vision’ Chief Karen Comstock stated, “You as a group have taken the vision and personally made it yours, collectively made it ours, and organizationally taken it to a new level of excellence,” she stated. “You are leaders I am proud to represent. May 2017 provide us even greater opportunities to grow in our service, professionalism and leadership. Thank you for all that you do every day.